As I set out on this road unknown, I discovered incredible gifts of friendship and musical collaboration in the welcoming arts community of Mission, BC. It is because of so many cheering me on that I have these songs to share with you today. I hope you enjoy the music and share it with others.



All songs written by Michael Jantzen (acoustic guitar & lead vocals)
Solomon Janzen: bass on 2-5 & 8, slide guitar on 2-4, backing vocals on 2
Tony O’Hara: electric guitar on 3, 5, 8, backing vocals on 1-6, 8
Jennie Bice: violin on 2, 4, 5, 7, backing vocals on 2
Steve Grosvenor: electric guitar on 1 & 6
Larry Vollans: acoustic guitar on 1 & 7
Jonathan Velasquez: bass on 1, 6, 7
Shelby Velasquez: backing vocals on 5
Michelle Scott: backing vocals on 7
Stefan Tavares: drums on 1, 6, 7
Jon Saldanha: drums on 2-5, 8
Leonard Janzen: banjo on 4
Brian Chan: cello on 5 & 8

Produced by Jonathan Velasquez & Michael Jantzen
Recorded at The Creative Shop Studios, Langley, BC.
Engineered and mastered by Jonathan Velasquez
Graphic Design by Grant Bielefeld
Photography by Stephanie Jantzen


My heartfelt thanks to everyone who pre-bought the album to help make this dream possible:  

Rick & Lisa Butler, Barbara Lynn Edwards, David Goertz, Emma Blinch, Ernie Doerksen, John Lablanc, Warren Heinrichs, Christine Grimard, Jake Bergen, Valerie Lowe, Vickie, Peter Koteles, Angie Karmason, Kevin Bice, Jason Brink, Grace Cheng, Paul Brooks, Marc Howatson, Rainer Cassido, Rob Whieldon, Bergen, Natalie Chung, Peter Collins, Sharol Josephson, Lorrie Parent, Mike Feenstra, Ed & Irene Lepp, Tony White, Jean Hall, Dorrie Manu, Neal Black, Peter Koteles, Shelly Szmadyla, Mark & Danielle Redekop, Hayden Vansanten, John Welsh, Karen Howat, Mike Woodard, Henry & Barb Lau, Ziggy & Joanne Kusiac, and Marlene Jantzen.

Special Thanks

God, for creating music in the first place as a gift to be shared. All of you amazing musicians who gave of your time and talent. Thank you! I’m proud of this album, in large part, because of your exceptional musicality.

Tony O’Hara (for the friendship and all the ways you make me a better musician), Jeff Lord (for the 12-string we raffled off), Bryan O’Ruanaidh (for emceeing the fundraiser), Jim Zerkee (for graciously hosting the fundraiser), Larry Vollans (for your handcrafted cahone we auctioned off), Bud Webb (for manning the 50/50 and making me promise to never put the word “baby” in a song), Dawn & Don Shap and Buddy & Louise Pereira (for inviting the band to host the Concert by the Creek), Shelly Szmadyla (for shopping so enthusiastically at the silent auction), Karen Mortensen & Mark Humpage (for inspiring me not to take myself so seriously), Kathy and Lando Klassen (for investing in the project), Edward & Maryann Jantzen (for being terrific parents who saw and nurtured my gift for music), Stephanie Jantzen (the love of my life, “You’re my favourite co-writer. I couldn’t have done this without you!”


  1. What a wonderful rich sound you capture in your music. I enjoyed how your lyrics spoke of life’s common experiences without cliche. Thanks!

    • Thanks so much, Greg! I’m so glad the music and lyrics resonated with you. Hope we can connect on facebook, that is, if you’re on that beast of thing.

  2. Just finished reading Mike Jantzen’s article ‘Not Disqualified by Divorce’. The message was on target
    to provide “words that carry grace to the heart”. After 33 years of marriage, I am now divorced and can identify
    with some of the feelings and thoughts you expressed about being disqualified. I am learning to dream again.
    Thank you again for the hope and encouragement. Your songs are a blessing too!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *